Edmond Chibeau looks at performance and theatre from the avant-garde communication perspective

My Photo
Location: Mansfield, Connecticut, United States

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Carlynn Savot, Cello

Carlynn Savot, Cello
accompanied by Cristian Pastorello, Piano
von der Mehden Recital Hall
Storrs Connecticut
15 November 2007

Many musicians, as they play, are planning the next note. They are not in the same moment the audience is in; nor are they in the same moment their instrument is in.
This playing ahead of the music costs them in intimacy

Savot listens to the note she is playing She is not reflecting upon the note just past, nor planning the note immediately to come. She is there with the music, with the note, with the moment. And in living the moment of the music that she is actually playing she allows us to be there with her. She stays with us to be our guide to the music, not only as it was once written down, but as it is now being played.

Carlynn Savot is a great teacher; her playing of the Beethoven sonata in A major was a tonal exegesis, an aural explanation of how we might choose to live with this sonata. Her forthright interpretation was not motivated by a superposed style but by a hermeneutic of honesty and an explication of her response to those very notes on this very night, at this very moment.

In the adagio cantabile her instrument sang with a familiar and easy liberty that allowed her to express her changing feelings at each moment, and to take us for a walk inside the music the way someone might show a visitor around the home they have dwelled in for years. Her subtle sense of humor is clearly present; it slips in and out of the performance as she plays.

Savot unfolded Bach’s Suite No.2 in d minor with clarity and care. The speed and legato of the closing Gigue movement never interfered with the clarity of presentation.

When Carlynn Savot plays, the audience gains a deeper understanding of the music.

Cristian Pastorello who accompanied on Piano was sensitive, supportive and fluid.

The evening consisted of Bach’s Suite No.2 in d minor, Beethoven’s Sonata in A major, Rebecca Clarke’s Passacaglia on an Old English Tune, Debussy’s Sonata in d minor and Paganini’s Variations on One String on a theme by Rossini.